Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:00 p.m. - Friday, Apr. 21, 2006
civility - politeness - being human
"Das Gefuhl fur Hamanitat hat mich noch nicht verlassen" was uttered by Immanuel Kant nine days prior to his death.
The sense of humanity has not left me.
The word Humanitat had come in the eighteen century to mean politeness, civility among other things to mean human...something above..and yet something below..
We have become human...life presses forward and we learn what civilized means. Yet, look close and imagine taking some essentials away...and see how many in 'society' fall back to a lesser meaning, to a lesser humanity, to something less than. Lest we become stuck in the thoughts of that stare, we must focus on how far we have risen. What we focus on, we tend to become.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!